Research Overview



The Department of Entomology’s research portfolio consists of basic science that builds on strengths in insect/plant interactions, and applied pest management research focused on stakeholder needs and priorities. We work on a range of insect and nematode problems using diverse tool-sets and varied disciplinary approaches.



Entomology Faculty

Signature Research Areas

I Host Plant/Insect/Nematode InteractionsII Arthropod Molecular Biology & Genomics
III International Cooperation & DevelopmentIV Environmental & Evolutionary Entomology
V Insect Science EducationVI Pest Management



Baributsa, Dieudonné III, VI
International IPM, postharvest entomology
dbaribut@purdue.edu

Buczkowski, Grzegorz II, VI
Ecology and evolution of urban & invasive arthropods
gbuczkow@purdue.edu

Cameron, Stephen II, IV
Insect evolutionary biology
cameros@purdue.edu

Couture, John I, IV
Plant-insect chemical ecology
couture@purdue.edu

Enders, Laramy I, II, IV
Insect-microbe interactions, applied evolutionary biology
lenders@purdue.edu

Foster, Ricky III, VI
Vegetable and fruit crop insect pest management
rfoster@purdue.edu

Gibb, Timothy V, VI
Insect/Human Health IPM, Insect Diagnostician, 4-H Entomology
gibb@purdue.edu

Ginzel, Matthew I, IV
Forest entomology & chemical ecology
mginzel@purdue.edu

Gondhalekar, Ameya II, VI
Urban entomology
ameyag@purdue.edu

Harpur, Brock II, IV, V
Apiculture & genomics of social bees
bharpur@purdue.edu

Hill, Catherine II, VI
Genetics and genomics of arthropod vectors
hillca@purdue.edu

Holland, Jeffrey IV
Landscape ecology and insect biodiversity
jdhollan@purdue.edu

Ingwell, Laura I, V, VI
Protected production entomology
lingwell@purdue.edu

Kaplan, Ian I, IV, VI
Ecology of herbivores and natural enemies
ikaplan@purdue.edu

Krupke, Christian I, VI
Field crop pest management
ckrupke@purdue.edu

Long, Elizabeth I, IV, VI
Horticulture entomology
eylong@purdue.edu

Oseto, Christian IV, V
Teaching with insects
osetoc@purdue.edu

Richmond, Douglas I, III, IV, VI
Turfgrass entomology and applied ecology
drichmond@purdue.edu

Sadof, Clifford I, III, IV, VI
Ornamental pest management
csadof@purdue.edu

Scharf, Mike II, VI
O. Wayne Rollins/Orkin Endowed Chair
Molecular physiology & urban entomology
mscharf@purdue.edu

Schemerhorn, Brandi I, II
Population genetics
bschemer@purdue.edu

Smith, Aaron II, IV
Insect systematics
smit3866@purdue.edu

Stamper, Trevor II, IV, V
Forensic sciences
stampert@purdue.edu

Stuart, Jeffrey I, II, III
Insect molecular genetics and genomics
stuartjj@purdue.edu

Yaninek, Steve III, IV, VI
Invasion biology
yaninek@purdue.edu




Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

2014 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Marketing and Media

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue Marketing and Media at online@purdue.edu.