Insect Ecology at Purdue - Ian Kaplan's Lab

PERSONNEL

Ian Kaplan
Associate Professor

PhD, Entomology, Univ. of Maryland (2007)
MS, Entomology, Auburn University (2003)
BS, Biology, Davidson College (2000)

Department of Entomology
Smith Hall, Purdue University
901 West State Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2089
Office: B1D Smith Hall
Lab: B79 Smith Hall
Office Phone: (765) 494-7207

Email: ikaplan@purdue.edu
 
Laura Ingwell
Postdoc Scientist

PhD, Entomology, University of Idaho (2014)
MS, Ecology, University of Rhode Island
BS, Biology, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (2006)

Office: B72 Smith Hall
Office Phone: (765) 494-6167

Email: lingwell@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
 
Hui Zhu
Visiting Scholar

PhD, Ecology, Northeast Normal University, China (2012)

MS, Forestry, Beihua University, China (2006)
BS, Forestry, Beihua University, China (2003)

Email: zhu738@purdue.edu
 
Paola Olaya-Arenas
PhD Student

MS, Ecology, University of Puerto Rico (2009)
MBS, Botany, Universidad del Valle (2003)

Email: polayaar@purdue.edu
 
Christie Shee
PhD Student

MS, Animal Sciences, Purdue University (2013)
BS, Animal Sciences, Ohio State University (2010)

Email: cshee@purdue.edu
 
Wadih Ghanem
PhD Student

MS, Plant Sciences, Wageningen University (2016)
BS, Agricultural Sciences, American University of Beirut (2014)

Email: wghanem@purdue.edu
 
Jacob Pecenka
PhD Student

MS, Biological Sciences, South Dakota State University (2017)
BS, Biology & Biotechnology, South Dakota State University (2014)

Email: jpecenka@purdue.edu
 
John Ternest
MS Student

BS, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of Colorado-Boulder (2016)

Email: jternest@purdue.edu

ALUMNI

Kathryn Ingerslew, Postdoc 2016-2018

Michael Garvey, PhD 2018
Current position: Postdoc in Dept. of Biological Sciences, Louisiana State University

Kayleigh Hauri, Research Tech 2017
Current position: MS Student, Dept. of Entomology, Michigan State University

Ulianova Vidal Gomez, PhD 2017

Juli Carrillo, Postdoc 2014-2016
Current position: Assistant Professor, Faculty of Land and Food Systems, University of British Columbia

Gina Angelella, PhD 2015
Current position: Postdoc in Dept. of Horticulture, Virginia Tech

Carmen Blubaugh, PhD 2015
Current position: Assistant Professor, Dept. of Plant and Environmental Sciences, Clemson University

Elizabeth Rowen, MS 2015
Current position: PhD student in Dept. of Entomology, Penn State University

Jessica Kelly, MS 2013

Joseph Braasch, MS 2012
Current position: PhD student in Dept. of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of Arizona